Jump to content


Any idea on why I got this


3 replies to this topic

#1 oldtrig

    Member

  • 216 posts
  • Joined: April 06, 2010
  • 24 topics
  • Age: 64
  • Skin: IP.Board
  • Local time: 05:17 AM
  • Zodiac:Aquarius
  • Gender:Male
  • OS:Windows 7
  • Country:
Offline
  • Time Online: 11h 45m 21s

Posted 02 August 2011 - 01:01 AM

I just installed a new hard drive and windows 7 pro 64 bit and was on the internet here at your site and got warning about windows security had detected something on my computer. I did not click OK to scan as I know what would have happened. This is one of the first sites I went to after the fresh install. I downloaded Microsoft security essentials before I ever went to any websites. The sites I went to were safe sites like yahoo.com and google.com. I never once got this warning when using xp pro. I have WOT installed and never got a warning about any bad site which I know for a fact I did not go to. Any idea why I got this warning at your site. I was on the form where I posted about windows image program. Thanks. Tom

#2 Broni Re: Any idea on why I got this

    Malware Annihilator

  • 24,883 posts
  • Joined: October 04, 2004
  • 1,860 topics
  • Age: 57
  • Skin: IPBoard wide
  • Local time: 10:17 PM
  • Zodiac:Virgo
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Daly City, CA
  • OS:Windows Vista
  • Country:
Offline
  • Time Online: 57d 10h 30m 28s

Posted 02 August 2011 - 01:07 AM

It'd be more clear if you had noted what exact warning you did get.

I've never heard of this type of complain regarding our site.

#3 oldtrig Re: Any idea on why I got this

    Member

  • 216 posts
  • Joined: April 06, 2010
  • 24 topics
  • Age: 64
  • Skin: IP.Board
  • Local time: 05:17 AM
  • Zodiac:Aquarius
  • Gender:Male
  • OS:Windows 7
  • Country:
Offline
  • Time Online: 11h 45m 21s

Posted 02 August 2011 - 01:26 AM

Broni, I do apologize, it could have been when I clicked on this link
Restoring an image is pretty simple: http://www.howtogeek...n-image-backup/
I had posted a topic about the backup here
http://www.smartestc...s-in-windows-7/
I would think that site is safe.
The message came on the screen so fast I could get all the info. I turned my pc off quick to avoid getting infected.
All I know is a box came up in the middle of the screen right when I clicked on that link and got this> Windows security had detected something, cannot remember all the message and for me to click SCAN to fix it. I know it was a fake
but was wondering how come it showed up on a new system. I have read where windows 7 64 bit is supposed to be the best. It is no big deal. I have scanned with malwarebytes and my antivirus program and all is good. The computer is fast as lighting and no problems at all. Just strange that showed up this morning when I was at your site. Again I apologize because I was clicking on a link from your site when this message appeared. Tom

#4 Broni Re: Any idea on why I got this

    Malware Annihilator

  • 24,883 posts
  • Joined: October 04, 2004
  • 1,860 topics
  • Age: 57
  • Skin: IPBoard wide
  • Local time: 10:17 PM
  • Zodiac:Virgo
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Daly City, CA
  • OS:Windows Vista
  • Country:
Offline
  • Time Online: 57d 10h 30m 28s

Posted 02 August 2011 - 01:39 AM

No need for apologizing :)

How-To-Geek site is a very known and safe site, so I really have no idea what happened there.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users


This topic has been visited by 1 user(s)