Jump to content


Photo

activation alert

IBM Thinkpad/XP pro

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 peterc

peterc

    $ Supporting Member

  • Members
  • 392 posts
  • 20 topics
    • Time Online: 99d 9h 12m 14s
  • Joined January 15, 2010
  • Skin: IP.Board
  • Local time: 04:35 PM
  • Zodiac:Aquarius
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York
  • OS:Windows XP
  • Country:
Offline

Posted 03 November 2011 - 12:49 PM

Hi everyone,

My sons laptop crashed and I decided to reload the software, I have all the disc that come with the IBM thinkpad T41

The computer is asking for "Windows Product activation" I installed the key under the computer but it still asks for this.

I am not as good as many of you guys here with the computer, enough to be dangerous and trust me... I am dangerous :fat_face_smiling:


What should I do?

#2 Guest_Berton_* Re: activation alert

Guest_Berton_*
  • Guests
  • Joined --
Offline

Posted 03 November 2011 - 01:36 PM

It's quite possible a re-install from disc will not be the same as what is currently installed, adding a Service Pack makes a newer version of the OS. It may be necessary to do a clean install then install SP3 afterward. Also involved is most of the OEMs/Brands use a Master HDD in a duplicating machine to produce cloned HDDs for each model of their computer and Windows is pre-activated in accordance with their licensing from Microsoft. The Product Key in that installation nearly always is different from the COA sticker on the computer and will be embedded in the factory restore disc or files on the restore partition.

#3 peterc Re: activation alert

peterc

    $ Supporting Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 392 posts
  • 20 topics
    • Time Online: 99d 9h 12m 14s
  • Joined January 15, 2010
  • Skin: IP.Board
  • Local time: 04:35 PM
  • Zodiac:Aquarius
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York
  • OS:Windows XP
  • Country:
Offline

Posted 03 November 2011 - 02:23 PM

thanks for the reply,

I called the number that they gave and they gave me the number to install into the lap top. It booted up not i need to complete the install.

Thanks

#4 Man'n'Black-4xp Re: activation alert

Man'n'Black-4xp

    The XP In The Ointment

  • Members
  • 1,933 posts
  • 167 topics
    • Time Online: 9d 22h 40m 54s
  • Joined November 28, 2010
  • Skin: IP.Board
  • Local time: 03:35 PM
  • Zodiac:Aquarius
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Midwest
  • OS:Windows XP
  • Country:
Offline

Posted 03 November 2011 - 10:19 PM

Avoiding reactivation
Posted Image

#5 peterc Re: activation alert

peterc

    $ Supporting Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 392 posts
  • 20 topics
    • Time Online: 99d 9h 12m 14s
  • Joined January 15, 2010
  • Skin: IP.Board
  • Local time: 04:35 PM
  • Zodiac:Aquarius
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York
  • OS:Windows XP
  • Country:
Offline

Posted 04 November 2011 - 12:36 AM

I read that last night but it was over my head. You guys are good,I am just dangerous lol

#6 Man'n'Black-4xp Re: activation alert

Man'n'Black-4xp

    The XP In The Ointment

  • Members
  • 1,933 posts
  • 167 topics
    • Time Online: 9d 22h 40m 54s
  • Joined November 28, 2010
  • Skin: IP.Board
  • Local time: 03:35 PM
  • Zodiac:Aquarius
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Midwest
  • OS:Windows XP
  • Country:
Offline

Posted 04 November 2011 - 03:57 AM

LoL... it can't be that impressive, as I figured it out years ago on my own W|O the net.
Posted Image

#7 peterc Re: activation alert

peterc

    $ Supporting Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • 392 posts
  • 20 topics
    • Time Online: 99d 9h 12m 14s
  • Joined January 15, 2010
  • Skin: IP.Board
  • Local time: 04:35 PM
  • Zodiac:Aquarius
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York
  • OS:Windows XP
  • Country:
Offline

Posted 04 November 2011 - 12:47 PM

I fix /sell copiers for a living and I just do not have the knack for computers,it is my weakest point. I just have a hard time getting it.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users