DAVID E

Country songs

Hank Snow-Haven't thought of him in a long time but I am a Patsy Cline/Kitty Wells/Ray Price fan...and, some of Hank Locklin, too.

Same type of folks.

Remember STUART HAMBLEN - I Won't Go Huntin' With You Jake

Yep, I do. That's an oldie for sure. Didn't he do This Old House?

Here I go drifting again.

Edited by DAVID E

Jim Reeves is another. Patsy gets a listening to also.

Just to many for me to list.

Gentleman, Jim...but of course. I have him and Patsy back to back on a 10 inch reel to reel tape. She on one side for an hour and a half and he other the other side.

My favorite by Gentleman Jim - Blue Canadian Rockies

Both Jimmy Rodgers had a couple apiece.

Jim Reeves doesn't have any songs I don't like. I have a somewhat obscure LP called "Don't Let me Cross Over" that has several superb duets with him and Deborah Allen. In particular, "Take Me in Your Arms and Hold Me" and "Oh, How I miss You Tonight" are marvelous songs so well done by them both. Just beautiful harmony.

Four years after his death he was elected to the Country Music Hall of Fame. Speaking of Stuart Hamblen, he wrote many gospel songs such as this one by the old Blackwood Brothers.

Edited by DAVID E

Stuart Hamblen, his was a interesting story.

A wild one he was, into drinking and a chronic womanizer I've read. He sure had a turn around later on. Remember Lefty Frizzel, Hank Thompson and Red Foley? Lots of old greats now gone and for sure they'll not be replaced. Red Sovine is another that comes to mind. My Dad really liked him.

I remember watching the Grand Ole Opera with a lot of the singers you mentioned, good music!

I wish the Opry was still on TV. For sure I'd like to see it replace that stupid ongoing program, The Walking Dead. What a waste of air time. At least you can still see some of the old Opry favorites on YouTube. An often overlooked great voice in bygone days...